Alberto Gonzales finally lands a job.


It took nearly two years, but Alberto Gonzales finally found a job teaching at Texas Tech:

Texas Tech Chancellor Kent Hance told the Lubbock Avalanche-Journal that Gonzales will start Aug. 1, and that his salary will be around $100,000.

“Anytime I can get a former cabinet member to work for the university, I will,” Hance said. “He can teach (students) about government, about goals, about diversity. Here’s a guy whose parents were migrant workers, and he went on to one of the highest offices in the land.”

Fortunately, Mr. Gonzales will be kept away from the Texas Tech School of Law since he’s only been hired to teach political science.

It took nearly two years, but Alberto Gonzales finally found a job teaching at Texas Tech:
Texas Tech Chancellor Kent Hance told the Lubbock Avalanche-Journal that Gonzales will start Aug. 1, and that his salary will be around $100,000.

“Anytime I can get a former cabinet member to work for the university, I will,” Hance said. “He can teach (students) about government, about goals, about diversity. Here’s a guy whose parents were migrant workers, and he went on to one of the highest offices in the land.”

Fortunately for Texas Tech’s law students, he’ll be teaching a political science course.

Technorati Tags: ,

4 Responses

  1. Welcome, visitors from TTU:

    Domain Name ttu.edu (Educational)
    IP Address 129.118.55.# (Texas Tech University)
    ISP Texas Tech University
    Continent : North America
    Country : United States (Facts)
    State : Texas
    City : Lubbock
    Lat/Long : 33.61, -101.8213 (Map)
    Language unknown
    Operating System Microsoft WinXP
    Browser Internet Explorer 7.0
    Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; InfoPath.2; MS-RTC LM 8)
    Javascript disabled
    Time of Visit Jul 8 2009 10:34:00 am
    Last Page View Jul 8 2009 10:34:00 am
    Visit Length 0 seconds
    Page Views 1
    Referring URL unknown
    Visit Entry Page http://grievanceproj…finally-lands-a-job/
    Visit Exit Page http://grievanceproj…finally-lands-a-job/

  2. Mr. Gonzales will lecture at Tech on his area of expertise, Fluid Mechanics of Waterboarding.

    See:

    http://notionscapital.wordpress.com/2009/07/13/professor-gonzales/

    • There are some excellent links at Mike’s post (click the link in the preceding comment). I especially like this part of the Texas Lawyer article Gonzales: “I’m Excited About the Tech Opportunity”:

      Gonzales says he’s not sure what the future holds as far as the possibility of working again for a Texas firm. “You know, I don’t know if I’m still in the hunt for a firm job. I’ve been open to the possibility to going back to a big-firm job,” Gonzales says. “But I’m ambivalent about going back as a partner. I’ve done that. And I worry that I would lose my flexibility to do other things. But if the right opportunity came along I’d consider it. But I’m excited about the Tech opportunity.”

      Gonzales, who resigned as AG as of Sept. 17, 2007, says he is not worried about a special prosecutor’s investigation into the dismissals of U.S. attorneys in 2006. But that investigation has hampered his job search, he says. “I think it was unrealistic for me to believe that I could pursue the things I want to pursue,” Gonzales says. “It had an effect, no question about it. And others I’ve talked to want to make those things under review come out in a positive way. To answer your question, it is something that I had to do. But I’m grateful there’s been no finding of criminal wrongdoing by me.”

      [Emphasis mine.]

      He’s ambivalent about not getting a firm job? Really? Even though it’s what he wanted to pursue when he left D.C. in 2007, has been pursuing for nearly 2 full years and is, admnittedly, still searching for one? For some reason, I don’t believe him. And I really hope there’s no ‘happy ending’ for AG if he ever does get a ‘firm job.’

  3. […] Alberto Gonzales finally lands a job. […]

Leave a Reply

