E-mail to Professor John Yoo


Updated August 11, 2008 to correct the address of Professor Yoo.

Professor John C. Yoo
U.S. District Court Judge
yoo@law.berkeley.edu

Dear Professor Yoo:

I have been researching the conduct of various attorneys in the service of the government of the United States, whether that conduct is a violation of the rules of professional conduct with which each such attorney must comply and authoring factual allegations of conduct that establish violations of the applicable rules of professional responsibility, including Alberto Gonzales, D. Kyle Sampson, Harriet Miers and yourself. In my opinion, you have committed numerous violations of the rules of professional conduct of Pennsylvania and Washington, D.C., that raise a substantial question as to your honesty, trustworthiness and fitness as a lawyer.

I’m interested in your response to the criticisms that your conduct in your handling of the Torture Memos violated the Pennsylvania and Washington, D.C. Rules of Professional Conduct.

E.M.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , ,

15 Responses

  1. […] against John Yoo, one of the Bush Administrations’s torture lawyers. He has also posted a copy of an e-mail he sent to professor Yoo, and a follow-up. No Comments so far Leave a comment RSS feed for […]

  2. No answer yet, eh? I wonder if he’ll whip out Condi’s, “I will not have my integrity impugned” like she has any. Or the administration standard, “I cannot comment while there are on-going investigations.”

  3. Not yet and don’t hold your breath.

  4. Well ya know, these raging narcissist types like to be heard ie. Karl Rove writing Abrams. I mean if a person can literally, legally justify torture, what won’t they do. Before Bush, you only had to be human to not be a candidate for torture.

  5. The way that Prof. Yoo has replied both by e-mail to other critics as well as in the media through his Op-Eds, I thought he might be the first subject of one of my posts to reply to me. Maybe he might reply if readers of this blog would politely ask for his thoughts on the matter.

  6. Horton spanks Yoo in the L.A. Times…close to Yoo’s stompin’ grounds. Thinking about a justification for torture is a far cry from licensing torture when it comes to academic freedom.

    http://www.latimes.com/news/opinion/la-oe-horton21apr21,0,1892568.story

  7. “Maybe he might reply if readers of this blog would politely ask for his thoughts on the matter.”

    I can ask…politely…I think.

  8. […] hears a Yoo. Posted on April 23, 2008 by E.M. As Melissa from Writechic Press noted here, New York attorney and Columbia Law School professor Scott Horton ’spanked’ Professor […]

  9. “I can ask…politely…I think.”

    Give it a try and let me know if you’re able to maintain control.

  10. Do you know me? Geez, I’ve tried a half dozen times since that post, and can’t stop the storm of expletives that rains in the brain right after typing the word, “dear.”

  11. Try leaving out the word ‘dear’ or maybe replace it with the word ‘deer’ and finish the letter while you pretend it’s hunting season.

  12. :-)

  13. […] I previously sent this e-mail back in April of this year, but, unfortunately, left out the ‘j’ so I sent it to y-o-o @ law.berkeley.edu. I noticed this error today after reading your op-ed, Supreme Court grabbed more power in recent term, in The Philadelphia Enquirer, which included your correct e-mail address and am, therefore, resending this previous e-mail: […]

  14. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

  15. Thanks for visiting and reading. I hope to see you around. And please feel free to offer suggestions, critiques, etc., to help improve the site’s effectiveness.

    One of these days, I might figure out how to utilize RSS feeds and readers to increase my site’s exposure.

Leave a Reply

